You are here

Bodies and Statutes

The Casa de la India is a cultural foundation with the following bodies:

Council of Honour

Its members are drawn from distinguished Personalities and Institutions whose functions are honorific and consultative with the aim of providing a better service for the Foundation. Her Royal Highness Princess Irene of Greece holds the Presidency of the Council of Honour. Other distinguished members of the Council of Honour include the musician Ravi Shankar, the orchestra conductor Zubin Mehta, and the businessman Ratan Tata.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the highest governing body and is responsible for the management and control of the Casa de la India Foundation. It is composed of the following members:

a) The President: the Presidency is rotatory and is held for successive two-year periods by the Honourable Lord Mayor of the City Council of Valladolid and by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Valladolid

b) Vice-president: the Vice-presidency is held inversely to the posts of the Presidency

c) Board Members:

  • The Councillor for Culture of the Town Hall of Valladolid
  • A representative of the University of Valladolid
  • Two representatives from the Indian Republic
  • The Board Members who are admitted to the head office of the foundation by virtue of their contribution or support for the aims of the foundation

d) Secretary: designated by the Board of Trustees.


The Director is named by the Board of Trustees to run the day to day working of the Casa de la India.

Advisory Committee

As a consultative organ, it is composed of recognised international specialists and representatives of the Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR).

Board of Friends

The Board of Friends of the Casa de la India is composed of persons and institutions that collaborate with the Casa de la India Foundation. Likewise, it has the function of offering proposals and suggestions in relation to the aims of the Foundation.